Skip to content

Green Fed

a blog about a girl who decided eating plants was the way to go

If you are like me, I pass up the Radishes when I see them at the market.  In other words, they are not my favorite!

We received our CSA box this week, and behold a nice, fat bunch of radishes stared at me when I opened up the box.  So, I immediately started searching for ways to prepare radishes because I knew none of us would eat them raw.

I decided to roast them with some turnips, carrots and an onion (tossed in a tiny bit of olive oil and a pinch of salt).  I put them in a 400 degree oven for about 20 minutes until all of the veggies were soft when I poked them with a fork.  I then tossed together a little dressing with the juice of an orange and some chopped, fresh cilantro.

Roasting the radishes really softens their flavor, and the orange juice and cilantro brought out some nice flavors of those vegetables. My boys had never tried radishes before, so it took some convincing that they tasted good.  Even my husband said he was skeptical at first, but really liked the flavor.  I loved this mix!

We ate this vegetable medley, along with a nice helping of Rapini (or Broccoli Rabe) and a freshly baked loaf of whole wheat bread.

I sautéed four cloves of garlic in 1 Tbsp olive oil just until the garlic was fragrant.  I then added two bunches of Rapini, with about 2 inches of stem, and tossed it in the olive oil and garlic.  Then I added 1 bunch of fresh broccoli and a cup of vegetable broth and brought it to a boil.  Once boiling, I covered the pan and turned the heat down to low to simmer for about 20 minutes.  Simmering the Rapini takes the bitterness out of it.

I love having a full spread of vegetables for dinner at least once a week.  It’s a great way for us to concentrated on getting ample servings of many different colors and textures of veggies.  And don’t forget, all of those essential vitamins and minerals!

Rapini has tons of Vitamins A, C, K and Calcium, along with phytochemicals that have been shown to fight cancer.  One more reason to eat those greens!

Some facts about Radishes that you might not know (I didn’t until I started researching):  HERE  Who knew those little red (sometimes purple, sometimes white or black) were packed so full of so many vital nutrients?  I think I’ll be eating them much more often… even raw!


