Skip to content

Green Fed

a blog about a girl who decided eating plants was the way to go

 

I really love getting a new box of produce every week from our CSA!  I love many things about it, one of which is getting veggies that I normally wouldn’t buy at the market.  Last week’s box had some Baby Bok Choy.  I’ve had it in Chinese Food before, but have never actually cooked with it.

Did you know that Baby Bok Choy is one of the healthiest vegetables you can eat?  It’s PACKED with nutrients, such as Calcium (74mg in ONE cup!), Fiber, Iron, Vitamin C, Vitamin A, Vitamin B6, and so much more!   It does have a decent amount of sodium in it, so keep that in mind when preparing it so you don’t over-do it with the salt.

I looked up different ways to prepare it, and threw together a last-minute meal the other night.

First, I made a little sauce out of 1/2 cup vegetable broth, 2 Tbsp Bragg’s Liquid Amino Acids (could be substituted with Soy or Tamari Sauce), 1 Tbsp honey, 1 Tbsp sesame oil, 1 Tbsp Rice Vinegar.

Then, I put a little sesame oil in a pan and sautéed up some chopped onion, garlic finely sliced carrots and green pepper.  After a few minutes, I added some diced tofu and cooked that until it was light golden brown.  I then added some cashews and cooked them for a couple of minutes.   Then I chopped up the baby bok choy into small chunks and added that to the pan. I then added the sauce to the pan and covered it to allow it to simmer for a few minutes and lightly wilt the baby bok choy.

I didn’t do this, but it would be awesome over a  brown rice or other grain of your choice.  I think I’ll actually do that next time.

So yummy, and so satisfying!

